Buy Nothing Lent

Fun fact: I’m a Christian.

You can stop ghasping in shock, I know.

As an Episcopalian (like Catholocism without the work, guilt, and sex-negativity), Lent is an important season for me. Lent is a penitential season and self-reflection and meditation are highly enouchaged during Lent. As are resolutions to improve ones self. People commonly “give up” something for Lent, although i prefer to take things on, rather than give things up.

However, this year, I’ve decided to do something a little more labored than not eating chocolate for six weeks. I’m going to stop buying stuff* during the duration of Lent (Ash Wednesday through Easter, minus Sundays). If I need a particular good or service, I plan on bartering for it, or using the “free” listings on CL or Freecycle.

Like my lovely adventures with Cosmo, I will be doing daily blog posts about the experience.

 

*I will make purchases that will benefit my health, safety, and academic success, if necessary.

This entry was posted in Buy Nothing Lent, Consumerism. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Buy Nothing Lent

  1. Molls says:

    I actually tried this out a few years ago, after getting a lecture from someone about how horrible plastic packaging “stuff” comes is for the environment.

    It stuck and now much of my “stuff” comes from thrift stores, Craigslist, freecycle, picked up off the curb, or inherited from friends. It’s addicting and makes shopping more of an adventure.

Leave a Reply

